top of page


This is a list of research group leaders with ongoing collaboration, post docs, doctoral students and visiting researchers I have collaborated with or advised over the years. People are mentioned in alphabetic order. The list is admittedly not complete, and I apologize that not all people with whom I have worked over the years are not yet mentioned here.

Research group leaders

Janne Alahuhta (University of Oulu, Finland)

David Angeler (Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences, Sweden)

Luis Mauricio Bini (Universidade Federal de Goiás, Brazil)

Núria Bonada (University of Barcelona, Spain)

Yongjiu Cai (Nanjing Institute of Geography and Limnology, China)

Thibault Datry (INRAE, France)

Sami Domisch (IGB, Germany)

Jaakko Erkinaro (Natural Resources Institute, Finland)

Tibor Erős (Balaton Limnological Institute, Hungary)

Peter Haase (Senckenberg Research Institute, Germany)

Matthew Hill (University of Huddersfield, UK)

Jan Hjort (University of Oulu, Finland)

Xiaoming Jiang (Xi'an University of Technology, China)

Frank Johansson (University of Uppsala, Sweden)

Zhengfei Li (Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)

Adriano Melo (Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil)

Roger Mormul (Universidade Estadual de Maringá, Brazil)

Robert Rolls (University of New England, Australia)

Dénes Schmera (Balaton Limnological Institute, Hungary)

Tadeu Siqueira (São Paulo State University, Brazil)

Janne Soininen (University of Helsinki, Finland)

Zhicai Xie (Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)

Jianjun Wang (Nanjing Institute of Geography and Limnology, China)


PhD students

Mira Grönroos (Finnish Environment Institute and University of Oulu, 2010-2015). 
Thesis available here.

Annika Vilmi (Finnish Environment Institute and University of Oulu, 2013-2017). 
Thesis available here.

Katri Tolonen (Finnish Environment Institute and University of Oulu, 2013-2018). 
Thesis available here.

Jenny Jyrkänkallio-Mikkola (University of Helsinki, 2014-2018). 
Thesis available here.

Mariana Perez Rocha (Finnish Environment Institute and University of Oulu, 2014-2018). 
Thesis available here.


Olli-Matti Kärnä (University of Oulu, 2016-2020).

Thesis available here.

Marja Lindholm (University of Oulu, 2017-2021).

Thesis available here.

Hanna-Maija Toivanen (University of Oulu, 2018-ongoing).

Henna Snåre (Finnish Environment Institute and University of Oulu, 2020-ongoing).

Post docs

Sebastian Valanko (Finnish Environment Institute, 2013-2014).

Janne Alahuhta (University of Oulu, 2013-2017).

Kimmo Tolonen (Finnish Environment Institute, 2014-2017).


Jorge García-Girón (University of León and University of Oulu, 2021-ongoing).


Visiting researchers

Aurelio Fajar Tonetto (São Paulo State University, Brazil, 2014)

Juliana Wojciechowski (Universidade Federal do Paraná, Brazil, 2015)

Camilo Roa Fuentes (São Paulo State University, Brazil, 2016)

Bruno Suarez (Estación Biológica de Doñana, Spain, 2016)

Gustavo Diaz Garrido (Universidad de Concepción, Chile, 2017)

Yongjiu Cai (Nanjing Institute of Geography and Limnology, China, 2016-2017)

Fernando Miranda Lansac-Toha (Universidade Estadual de Maringá, Brazil, 2018-2019)

Ully Mattilde Pozzobom Costa (Universidade Federal de Mato Grosso, Brazil, 2018-2019)

Raphael Ligeiro (Federal University of Pará in Brazil, 2019)

bottom of page